A brief history
Hotel Elizabeth, originally named "Erszebet Szalo", was built by Baron Armin Popper. It
started its operations on January 1, 1902 and it immediately became part of the social and cultural life of the city of Trenčín. In 1921, the hotel was renamed "Hotel Tatra". Nobility met here with perfect comfort and service of the Viennese facilities. The year 2001 was unique for the hotel; it celebrated its 100th anniversary. The hotel underwent extensive reconstruction in 1987 and 1994 when it again opened its doors to guests.
From 2010 to 2012 the hotel underwent extensive reconstruction to become a modern business and wellness hotel, which will captivate even the most demanding business clientele while retaining the original charm of the art nouveau style architecture and its unique historical atmosphere.
Old name, new look
The year 2001 was exceptional for the hotel - it marked the 100th anniversary of its construction. The hotel was closed from 1987 to 1994 for extensive renovation works. When it finally reopened its doors, guests were pleasantly surprised by its exceptional historical atmosphere.
This complex renovation enhanced the beautiful Secessionist architecture even more. The next major renovation took place in 2010 and took two years. The new stylish business look suits the hotel very well and will please even the most demanding guests. After reopening, the hotel was given its old name - Hotel Elizabeth - to further promote its important role in the city of Trenčín.
Symbol of history
Upon seeing the unique, almost 2 000 year-old Roman inscription on the castle rock visible from the hotel's terrace or the Restaurant Elizabeth, you will understand the main idea of the hotel perfectly: Where history meets modern style.